• Submit one original Permit Application, completed, signed and notarized
  • Provide a copy of current contractor’s license(s), liability insurance, and worker’s compensation
  • An Owner-Builder affidavit is required when the property owner is acting as their own contractor. Restrictions apply pursuant to Florida Law, Chapter 489 Part I.
  • Provide a signed cost estimate/bid contract
  • Submit three sets of plans or one if submitting electronically. Residential driveway/walkway/patio/deck projects may use a property survey. The project area should be highlighted and all measurements, including setbacks should be clearly indicated on survey.
  • Residents belonging to a Homeowner’s Association shall be required to provide a signed letter from said HOA affirming compliance with association regulations regarding the scope of improvement or work to be done. Issuance of permit does not give permission to violate deed restrictions and/or homeowner’s regulations. Please check deed restrictions prior to commencing construction.
  • A Tree Affidavit for Removals/Replacements must be submitted with all residential applications. Trees MUST be indicated on survey as instructed per the affidavit.
  • A Construction Easement Agreement shall be required for any non-permanent structures allowed in the utility easement • In accordance with Section 713.13 of the Florida Statutes, a Notice of Commencement is required for the construction of, improvements to, alteration of or repair of real property with a cost value of $2,500 or greater. The Notice of Commencement must be recorded with Broward County Records, Taxes and Treasury Division, or in the office of the clerk where the real property is located.
  • All permit fees are calculated based on Section 13-88 of the City’s Code of Ordinances. o Minor maintenance work, with an engineering cost estimate of $5,000.00 or less, shall have a minimum permit fee of $100.00. o Maintenance work, with an engineering cost estimate over $5,000.00, shall have the permit and inspection fee at 4%.
  • Permits are valid for one year, a Permit Renewal Fee will be required for time extension. Permits will expire if construction does not start within 180 days of issuance date. Permit will be suspended if there is no construction activity 90 days after the last engineering inspection


Call 811 before you dig!

Safe digging is your responsibility. Call Sunshine 811 to learn about the free service to find out when and where you can dig. Visit Sunshine811.com/Homeownerfor more information.

Construction hours are permitted on:

Mondays through Fridays7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Saturdays8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Sundays and National Holidays8:00 AM - 6:00 PM