Building Contact

4800 West Copans Road
Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday
7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Main Line: 954-973-6750EBuilding@coconutcreek.net


Sean Flanagan Building Official SFlanagan@coconutcreek.net 954-956-1503
Marcelo Almas Structural Plans Examiner MAlmas@coconutcreek.net 954-956-1564
Dominick Toresco Structural Plans Examiner DToresco@coconutcreek.net 954-956-1450
Dwayne Vanek Chief Electrical Inspector DVanek@coconutcreek.net 954-956-1549
Chad Delarionda Electrical Plans Examiner CDelarionda@coconutcreek.net 954-956-1543
Mike Beck Chief Mechanical Inspector MBeck@coconutcreek.net 954-956-1490
Thomas Vaughn Chief Plumbing Inspector TVaughn@coconutcreek.net 954-956-1501
Sarah Coveney Building Supervisor SCoveney@coconutcreek.net 954-973-6776
Teresa Nogueras Senior Permit Technician TNogueras@coconutcreek.net 954-956-1457
header-building-sm

Building Department

A Building Permit is required for all new construction, any alteration, replacement or removal of any existing structure of any discipline in accordance with the Florida Building Code. Disciplines include structural, electrical, plumbing and mechanical (A/C). The Building Division provides many services to residents, builders and contractors; enabling the City to maintain high standards of building integrity and to preserve neighborhood property values. Staff is available to assist and guide homeowners and contractors through the permit process on new construction, renovations and adding to an existing structure.

ePermits

ePermits
(Electronic Permit Submittal)

Note: Uploaded documents must be regular unlocked PDF files. PDF portfolios are not compatible with our system. See ePermits Tutorial below for upload requirements.

Owner-builders permits can be applied for in-person. Please email the Building Division for additional information or for submitting required documents. Contractors must use their logins to submit via the online portal.

View ePermits Tutorial

Things to Remember

Here are a few things to remember when having construction work done in or around your home or business. Hire licensed, insured and reputable contractors. Get a minimum of 3 quotes before signing a contract. Request references, licenses and insurance information for each contractor. Verify licenses with the Florida DBPR. Verify and track your permit via E-Services, Permit Status & Records.

Building Safety Program

As a part of Emergency Management and Safety, we offer community education for mitigation audits to homes, businesses and local government buildings older than 25 years.

Code Appeals Broward County Building Safety Inspection Program

Building Department Application and Forms

City of Coconut Creek required forms not listed below, can be requested via email. 

***NEW Broward County uniform permit application - Effective immediately.

Mechanical Exception? Please click HERE to email a request for a Mechanical Contractor Verification Letter of Declaration & Exceptions form. This form is required to be submitted with your permit application.


Broward County ePermits One Stop

Coconut Creek and Broward County has teamed up to launch ePermitsOneStop. This allows customers to submit their application and receive approval for associated Broward County permits in a quick and seamless process, eliminating the need to travel to Broward's Government Center West in Plantation.

Butterfly Capital of the World

© 2024 City of Coconut Creek. All rights reserved. Butterfly and Coconut Creek emblem are registered trademark of the City of Coconut Creek. Under Florida law, e-mail addresses are public records. If you do not want your e-mail address released in response to a public records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone or in writing.