The Citizen's Academy is a nine week interactive program that teaches residents how city government is run. Each class is taught by staff from each of the City's departments and culminates with a mock commission meeting. There is no charge to join the Academy.

Goals:

  • Develop civic "ambassadors" within Coconut Creek neighborhoods who can become trusted and reliable sources of information for their neighbors

  • Develop a diverse group of citizens, who can offer "ex-officio" advice and feedback on current projects, initiatives, or events

  • Build a civic leadership network that increases participation in local affairs

Graduates will become part of an information network that will progressively grow. Ideally, some of these graduates will go on to run for elected office or sit on appointed boards.

View photos from last class here.

Contact:  Yvonne Lopez 954.973.6722 or ylopez@coconutcreek.net

THIS CLASS IS FULL
Citizen's Academy Class XVII Schedule

SessionDateTimeLocation

Introduction, Welcome, City Finances

Tuesday, March 16, 20216:00 PM – 8:30 PMCommission Chambers

Police

Tuesday, March 23, 20216:00 PM – 8:30 PMPolice Department Training Room

Human Resources, Information Technology, Community Relations

Tuesday, March 30, 20216:00 PM – 8:30 PMCommission Chambers

Utilities & Engineering

Tuesday, April 6, 20216:00 PM – 8:30 PMCommission Chambers

Unity In Our Community

Tuesday, April 13, 20216:00 PM – 8:30 PMCommission Chambers

Fire Rescue Services

Tuesday, April 20, 2021 6:00 PM – 8:30 PM
Commission Chambers/Station Tour

Public Works

Tuesday, April 27, 20216:00 PM – 8:30 PMCommission Chambers

Planning, Permitting, & Code Compliance

Tuesday, May 4, 20216:00 PM – 8:30 PMCommission Chambers

Parks & Recreation

Tuesday, May 11, 20216:00 PM – 8:30 PMCommission Chambers/Bus Tour

City Clerk, City Attorney, Mock Commission Meeting

Tuesday, May 18, 20216:00 PM – 8:30 PMCommission Chambers


Graduates receive Certificates of Completion on Thursday, May 27, 2021 7:00 PM
during the City Commission meeting.